Ulster Architectural Heritage

Ulster Architectural Heritage The lead independent voice for Ulster's built heritage. Promoting heritage protection, conservation and regeneration across the nine counties of Ulster. NI 35582
(2)

Old Museum Building,
Belfast,
BT1 6AR. T 028 9055 0213 E [email protected]
A Charity and a Company Limited by Guarantee
NI Charity Commission No: NIC101510 | Company Reg No.

Join in the celebration with European Heritage Open Days (EHOD) 2026, Northern Ireland's annual festival of local archit...
14/08/2026

Join in the celebration with European Heritage Open Days (EHOD) 2026, Northern Ireland's annual festival of local architecture, history and culture!
Taking place throughout September, EHOD 2026 offers hundreds of free opportunities to explore hidden gems, discover fascinating stories and enjoy unique experiences across Northern Ireland.

On Sunday 10th September, 10am -4pm visit the Old Museum Building.

Built for the Belfast Natural History and Philosophical Society as home for the city's first museum collection it was Belfast's original 'Home of Science, Literature and Art'. The Old Museum is now home to Ulster Architectural Heritage, the lead independent voice for built heritage in Ulster, promoting the value of built heritage, its protection, conservation and regeneration for people and communities. Tours available. The event will be family friendly with trails and activities designed for kids. The UHA bookshop will be open and refreshments will be available.

Find out what's on:
đŸ“± Web App: European Heritage Open Days
📖 Digital Brochure: European Heritage Open Days 2026
🌐 Discover Northern Ireland: European Heritage Open Day Northern Ireland | Discover NI
đŸ›ïž DfC EHOD Webpage: European Heritage Open Days | Department for Communities
Please note: While all EHOD events are free to attend, some require advance booking.

Follow and tag@LoveHeritageNI and help spread the word!

12/08/2026
10/08/2026

Some Heritage at Risk in Co. Antrim:

Cairndhu Gate Lodge, built 1898; Northern Bank, Ballymena, built 1862; 10 Altmore Street, Glenarm, built c.1835; Bridge Dining Rooms, Carnlough, built c1930; Gate Lodge, St Louis Convent, built 1864.

More information on each building is available on the Heritage at Risk Register: https://apps.communities-ni.gov.uk/harni/

The Heritage at Risk project is delivered by Ulster Architectural Heritage, funded & in partnership with the Department for Communities

28/07/2026

It is 75 years since Belfast celebrated the 1951 Festival of Britain with the ‘Farm and Factory’ Exhibition at Castlereagh; an event showcasing examples of the latest innovations in architecture and design. This year, Brown’s Warehouse is also marking its 75th year. Like its fascinating neighbour, Portview Trade Centre, (the former Strand Spinning Mill), Brown’s has recently been beautifully restored and much of its industrial fabric retained and re-used.
Thanks to Paul Elliot from Brown's, and Gareth Neill from Portview for a fantastic tour.

Find out about more UAH events here: https://ulsterarchitecturalheritage.org.uk/news---events/events/



Ulster Architectural Heritage (UAH) is appalled by the recent demolition of the listed Antrim Arms in the Ballycastle Co...
10/07/2026

Ulster Architectural Heritage (UAH) is appalled by the recent demolition of the listed Antrim Arms in the Ballycastle Conservation Area, undertaken without prior notice overnight and at the start of the holiday season.

Consent for demolition had been applied for and refused in 2025, with the owner clearly aware of the policy protections in place for a listed building in a conservation area. The building had fallen into disrepair over a prolonged period of time through neglect, lack of maintenance and the failure of the responsible authority (Causeway Coast and Glens council) to exercise their powers protecting listed buildings and Conservation Areas. An arson attack then damaged the roof of the rear return of the building, however, in our view the building remained structurally sound and we had been lobbying for a scheme to bring it back into use based on sensitive repairs.

Recent media reports had suggested the council had approved partial demolition of the building, based on a structural report which had not been made publicly available, and UAH had been in the process of challenging this. UAH had proactively engaged a CARE accredited structural engineer, with extensive experience of historic buildings such as this, to inspect and report on the building condition following the recent fire. Their clear advice was that the building appeared to remain structurally sound and that full demolition was in no way justified. We had shared this advice with both the council and building owner.

The council was asked a month ago to supply all documents and reports relating to the alleged structural issues via a request under the Environmental Information Regulations 2004 . The deadline for response has now passed and UAH have heard nothing.

UAH solicitors have an extensive file relating to the Antrim Arms and in the light of the overnight demolition we are taking further legal advice on the matter. If non-consented works are found to have been undertaken, UAH will pursue strong repercussions to ensure that the owner does not benefit from their actions. We will also seek to ensure the council are held accountable for any poor decision making they may have made. There must be a strong deterrent to any unauthorised demolition of listed buildings.

Save CQ have produced this helpful guide to having your say on the Castlebrooke development plan in Belfast's Cathedral ...
02/07/2026

Save CQ have produced this helpful guide to having your say on the Castlebrooke development plan in Belfast's Cathedral Quarter in both the pre-consultation stage, and the formal planning consultation stage. Castlebrooke's plans can be viewed here: https://northst-donegallst.co.uk/our-proposals/

The aftermath of last night's fire at the Convent of Our Lady of Mercy, Downpatrick.The Convent is a key part of the ecc...
29/06/2026

The aftermath of last night's fire at the Convent of Our Lady of Mercy, Downpatrick.

The Convent is a key part of the ecclesiastical complex within the Downpatrick Conservation Area, alongside the adjacent church. It is a three-storey Gothic wing in brick, with sandstone window surrounds and a tall projecting gable in white render. The entrance is recessed beneath a canted window, with a high square tower tucked into the angle behind. It was designed by Mortimer Thompson of Belfast, and building began in 1872.

Vacant for a number of years, it has been on the Heritage at Risk Register since 2020. Buildings like this can still be saved — see the triumphant return of Cathedral Buildings in Belfast following serious fire damage in 2022. There were recent plans to convert the convent to apartments; let’s hope that restoration and reuse can still be realised.

Look out for the next update to our UAH/Heritage at Risk Fire Map, which includes case studies of buildings that rise from the ashes, and next steps for responding to the risk posed by fires in heritage buildings. The Convent will likely continue this year’s troubling trend of a listed-building fire every month.


One for the sunny weather! This 1920s chalet near Groomsport, Co. Down, was listed in 2012 and added to HARNI in 2024. I...
27/06/2026

One for the sunny weather!
This 1920s chalet near Groomsport, Co. Down, was listed in 2012 and added to HARNI in 2024. It is a rare surviving example of a building type once common in the area, when the coast here was filled with the huts, chalets, and caravans of holidaymakers. Built of timber and weatherboarding, with a charming full-width timber veranda, a little dormer in its hipped felt roof, and a bay-window, it must have been a wonderful place for a summer holiday.

UAH have been working with the Department for Communities since 1993 to record heritage at risk, and encourage its reuse and regeneration through the Heritage At Risk Northern Ireland project. Since 2003 over 360 structures have been removed.



Some buildings within the Clarendon Street Conservation Area of Derry/Londonderry. The Madden Mineral Building: with pil...
20/06/2026

Some buildings within the Clarendon Street Conservation Area of Derry/Londonderry.
The Madden Mineral Building: with pilasters, a scrolled pediment topping the parapet, and stucco lettering, wonderfully Art Deco and evocative of 1920s advertising. Not listed or on HARNI, and appears in good order, but it is not clear that it is currently in use.
33 Great James Street. A big square-plan, three-storey building with basement. Built of Dungiven Sandstone, it has a central chimney topping its hipped roof. In combination with its impressive door-casing, and its pedimented window on the first floor it is very severe and symmetrical. It has seen a variety of uses over the years including as a shirt-factory, gym, school, and youth-club. The condition of the sandstone, the roof, and general interior condition is making its continued use challenging.
Third Presbyterian Church. ‘The Scots’ Church’, a large, classically styled church in sandstone with a big ionic portico high up a flight of steps. The steps have cast-iron rails and are edged with scrolls, one of the volutes has fallen off, resting against a streetlight! It was added to HARNI in 2003, but has seen a series of meanwhile uses keep it from dereliction. The CultĂșrlann centre are to be commended for reinvigorating the adjacent Manse, and are behind the reuse of both number 33 and this church.
2 Queen Street is a three-storey Georgian terrace. The row was laid out in the 1840s and this is the only house out of use. It was added to HARNI in 2024, concerningly, it now appears to be missing some ridge-tiles on the roof. It is to be hoped that the lovely situation and practical design win out, and this house finds a use.
The Former Reformed Presbyterian is older than its unusual Arts and Crafts appearance would suggest, dating to 1863. The gable to Clarendon Street is flanked by very distinctive porches combining painted timber with steep slate roofs and stonework. There is a chisel-shaped tower to the west side. Not on HARNI, and externally in good condition, to the rear the schist stone walls have been extensively covered in sand-cement likely causing damp internally and so issues for its owners

A few tickets remain for the UAH Summer Party!Sunday 21st June 2026, 3 pm – 6 pmThe Fort, TandrageeCelebrate Midsummer’s...
15/06/2026

A few tickets remain for the UAH Summer Party!

Sunday 21st June 2026, 3 pm – 6 pm

The Fort, Tandragee

Celebrate Midsummer’s Day with friends from UAH at The Fort, Tandragee. Named after a ringfort formerly near the site, The Fort is an early 19th century vernacular farmhouse, restored between 2008 and 2019 and enjoyed for its simple beauty and rural surroundings. There will be the chance to learn about the building’s phased restoration and enjoy afternoon tea.

Refreshments: Choice of Pimms, elderflower cordial or Armagh apple juice and strawberries and cream, followed by afternoon tea. Please notify the office at [email protected] of any food allergies or intolerances on booking so that alternatives can be provided.

Tickets: ÂŁ20 for Members and ÂŁ25 for Non-Members. These are available via Eventbrite: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/uah-summer-party-tickets-1988564309380?aff=ebdsoporgprofile and must be purchased in advance!

NB: Due to the building’s age, there are several low doorways and steps to different levels. Attendees are asked to take particular care when walking through doorways and along uneven ground if outside.

Address

7 College Square North
Belfast
BT16AR

Opening Hours

Monday 9:15am - 5pm
Tuesday 9:15am - 5pm
Wednesday 9:15am - 5pm
Thursday 9:15am - 5pm
Friday 9:15am - 5pm

Telephone

+442890550213

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Ulster Architectural Heritage posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Organisation

Send a message to Ulster Architectural Heritage:

Shortcuts

Share