08/19/2026
BYTOWN BICENTENNIAL BYTES! POOLEY’S BRIDGE… Tucked beneath the escarpment at the eastern edge of LeBreton Flats, the Ottawa Water Works Complex is made up of heritage structures — still in operation today — that tell the extraordinary story of intensive 19th-century industrial development in the LeBreton-Chaudière area. Pooley’s Bridge was a critical component of that complex, which also included the Fleet Street Pumping Station, a 750-metre long aqueduct, the channeled tailrace, and five stone bridges, of which Pooley’s is the only multi-span example.
Built in 1872 by local contractor Alexander Sparks, the bridge was designed by George Hugo Perry, city engineer for Ottawa. The large (37-metre-long) triple segmented stone-arched structure includes parapets, voussoirs and keystones, with a decorative metal railing. The elegant but solid masonry bridge rests on two abutments over the channeled tailrace, where water from the pumping station flows back into the Ottawa River.
Pooley’s Bridge is the oldest existing and still functioning structure from Ottawa’s municipal development program of the 1870s. A major public works initiative prompted by rapid growth in the young capital city and the devastating fire of 1870, the program established core civic infrastructure, most notably the Water Works Complex.
The name Pooley’s Bridge dates to the first round-log bridge on the site, constructed by Royal Engineer Lieutenant Henry Pooley in 1829. It was the final bridge needed to connect Bytown with the newly completed Union Bridge that spanned the Chaudière Falls to Wrightstown on the Lower Canada (Quebec) side of the river. It is written that Colonel By was so impressed with the structure built over “the gully” that he dubbed it “Pooley’s Bridge,” and the name stuck.
Pooley’s Bridge is unique in Ontario for being associated with a system of four single-span, stone-arch bridges that cross an open aqueduct and is a rare example of a large stone bridge in Ottawa that is representative of 19th century bridge design. It is linked to the historic water works complex, creating a picturesque cultural landscape comprised of the city’s last remaining 19th century structures on LeBreton Flats, a once bustling industrial area that, at its peak at the end of the 19th century, was the economic engine of the region.
Over the years, restoration work on the bridge has seen some of the masonry replaced, but the integrity of the original design remains intact.
In 1982, the City of Ottawa designated the pumping station and aqueduct under Part IV of the Ontario Heritage Act, and in 1995, Pooley’s Bridge and the channeled tailrace were similarly designated. In 2024, the two by-law designations were replaced with one comprehensive by-law to capture the site in its entirety and to identify specific heritage attributes and expand on the heritage significance of the Water Works Complex.
Pooley’s Bridge was closed to automobile traffic in 1983 and today the tailrace is used as a whitewater kayak course managed by the Ottawa River Runners.
CAPSULES DU BICENTENAIRE DE BYTOWN! LE PONT POOLEY... Niché sous l’escarpement à l’extrémité est des plaines LeBreton, le complexe de l’Aqueduc d’Ottawa comprend des structures patrimoniales – encore en exploitation aujourd’hui – qui racontent le récit extraordinaire de l’intense développement industriel vu au 19e siècle dans le secteur LeBreton-Chaudière. Le pont Pooley en est un composant essentiel. Il y a aussi la station de pompage de la rue Fleet, un aqueduc de 750 mètres, le canal de fuite et cinq ponts en pierre, dont le Pooley est le seul ayant des travées multiples.
Le pont Pooley a été construit en 1872 par l’entrepreneur Alexander Sparks sur des plans de George Hugo Perry, ingénieur municipal d’Ottawa. Sa longue structure (37 mètres) repose sur trois arches de pierre, avec des parapets, des voussoirs, des clés de voûte et des garde-corps décoratifs en métal. L’ouvrage de maçonnerie est élégant mais solide, s’appuyant sur deux culées au-dessus du canal de fuite par où l’eau de la station de pompage s’écoule vers la rivière des Outaouais.
Le pont Pooley est le plus ancien ouvrage restant en usage issu du programme de développement d’Ottawa des années 1870. Ce programme était une vaste initiative de travaux publics suscitée par l’essor de la nouvelle capitale et de l’incendie dévastateur de 1870. Il visait à doter la ville d’une infrastructure de base, dont le complexe de l’Aqueduc était une pièce maîtresse.
Le nom du pont renvoie au premier pont construit sur le lieu, en rondins, par le lieutenant du Génie royal Henry Pooley. C’était en 1829. Ce pont permettait de relier Bytown au nouveau pont Union enjambant les chutes de la Chaudière pour atteindre Wrightstown (ou Wrightville, qui deviendrait Hull), du côté du Bas-Canada (Québec) de la rivière. Il paraît que le colonel By a été si impressionné par la structure qu’il l’a appelé « le pont de Pooley ». Le nom est resté.
Le pont Pooley est unique en Ontario par son association à un système de quatre ponts à travée unique sur arche en pierre au-dessus d’un aqueduc ouvert. Il est un rare exemple de grand pont en pierre à Ottawa représentant bien la conception des ponts au 19e siècle. Il est lié à l’historique complexe d’aqueduc, créant un paysage culturel pittoresque comprenant les ultimes structures municipales subsistantes du 19e siècle sur les plaines LeBreton. À la fin du 19e siècle, les plaines LeBreton étaient un secteur industriel effervescent, moteur économique de la région.
Au fil des ans, des travaux de restauration ont remplacé une partie de la maçonnerie, mais l’ouvrage original a conservé son intégrité.
En 1982, la Ville d’Ottawa a désigné la station de pompage et l’aqueduc en vertu de la partie IV de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario. En 1995, elle désignera aussi le pont Pooley et le canal de fuite. En 2024, les deux règlements municipaux de désignation ont été remplacés par un seul règlement portant sur l’ensemble du site, précisant les traits patrimoniaux et l’importance patrimoniale du complexe de l’Aqueduc.
Le pont Pooley a été fermé à la circulation automobile en 1983. Le canal de fuite sert aujourd’hui à la pratique du kayak en eau vive; il est géré par le groupe Ottawa River Runners.
SOURCES
City of Ottawa, “Update to the Designation of the Ottawa Water Works Complex under Part IV of the Ontario Heritage Act,” File number: ACS2024-PRE-RHU-0017, Report to the Built Heritage Committee, February 13, 2024.
City of Ottawa, Ottawa: A Guide to Heritage Structures. Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee, 2000.
Ville d’Ottawa, « Mise à jour de la désignation du complexe de l’Aqueduc d’Ottawa en vertu de la partie IV de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario », dossier ACS2024-PRE-RHU-0017, rapport au Comité du patrimoine bâti le 13 février 2024.
Ville d’Ottawa. Ottawa : Guide du patrimoine bâti. Comité consultatif local pour la conservation de l’architecture, 2000.
PHOTOS
Left: Wikimedia Commons/Jeangagnon
Top right: circa 1878 Creative Commons
Bottom right: City of Ottawa