01/07/2026
MISREPRESENTATION by LODGE SIR JOHN LAVARACK, No. 110, UGLQ.
On 3 June 2025, an entity, styling itself Lodge Sir John Lavarack, No.110, UGLQ (United Grand Lodge of Queensland), published a page on the social networking service of Facebook called ‘Lodge Sir John Lavarack’.
In the ‘About’ section of the entity’s page, under the subheading ‘Intro’, the following statement is made:
‘Lodge Sir John Lavarack, designated No. 842, SC, was established on August 21st, 1896. The consecration ceremony took place at the Masonic Hall on Alice Street, Brisbane, officiated by the Grand Lodge of Scotland.’
To correct the record, a Masonic lodge styling itself Lodge Sir John Lavarack has never been listed on the register of The Grand Lodge of Scotland (GLS), otherwise known as the Scottish Constitution (SC) in Queensland. The reality is it was Lodge Lamington, No. 842, SC, that was duly consecrated under the Scottish Constitution in the Masonic Hall, Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland, on 21 August 1896.
On the same day, i.e. 3 June 2025, that the Facebook entry referred to above was published, the entity Lodge Sir John Lavarack published an additional post under the heading ‘Lodge History’, in which it made the following statement:
‘In 1947, Lieutenant-General Sir John Lavarack, Governor of Queensland, joined the lodge. His distinguished military career and leadership during World War II earned him great respect. In 1950, he was installed as Master of the lodge, and in 1986, the lodge was renamed in his honour, becoming Lodge Sir John Lavarack.’
To correct the record, the Lodge which Sir John Lavarack joined, and of which he was subsequently installed as Master in 1950, was Lamington Lodge, No. 110, UGLQ. Further, Lamington Lodge was NOT renamed Lodge Sir John Lavarack in 1986.
Lamington Lodge continued to operate under the name Lamington Lodge, No. 110, UGLQ until 2018, when, by resolution, it became an independent Masonic Lodge and continues to operate under its own name, Lamington Lodge, to this day. In 2024, Lamington Lodge rejoined The Grand Lodge of Queensland (GLQ) and was listed on the Register as Lamington Lodge, No. 31, GLQ.
Consequently, the entity Lodge Sir John Lavarack knowingly misrepresents its history to the public at large via the public domain of Facebook, as well as misrepresenting its members.
Further, in the ‘Links’ section of the page of the entity, Lodge Sir John Lavarack, there is a link to the entity’s website (https://sjl110.com.au/ ). Accessing this website on 4/5/2026 and 24/6/2026, a page was found called ‘OUR RICH HISTORY’ (https://sjl110.com.au/history.php ). The content of this page makes the same claims regarding the history of the entity, Lodge Sir John Lavarack. The history presented is the history of Lodge Lamington No. 842, SC; Lodge Lamington No. 31, QC; and Lodge Lamington No. 110, UGLQ, and is, in all cases, the same Lodge operating under different Masonic Constitutions.
Scrolling down Lodge Sir John Laverack’s webpage, you come to a section called ‘A LEGACY OF LEADERSHIP’ which includes a photograph of a gentleman in military attire annotated by the following statement:
‘In 1947, Lieutenant-General Sir John Lavarack, Governor of Queensland, joined our lodge. His distinguished military career and leadership during World War II earned him great respect throughout Australia and the Commonwealth. In1950, he was installed as Master of the lodge, bringing his renowned leadership and dedication to our Masonic community.
In 1986, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to both Freemasonry and Queensland, our lodge was renamed in his honour, becoming Lodge Sir John Lavarack. This renaming symbolises our commitment to the values he embodied: service, leadership, integrity, and dedication to the betterment of society.’
To correct the record, the gentleman in the photograph is not Sir John Lavarack but Sir Henry Abel Smith, 17th Governor of Queensland, who served from 18 March 1958 to 18 March 1966.
To correct the record, Lamington Lodge, No. 110, UGLQ was NOT renamed in 1986. Lamington Lodge operated under the name of Lamington Lodge, No. 110, UGLQ until 2018, when, by resolution, it became an independent Masonic Lodge and continues to operate under its name, Lamington Lodge, to this day. In 2024, Lamington Lodge re-joined The Grand Lodge of Queensland (GLQ) and is listed on the Register as Lamington Lodge, No. 31, GLQ.
By stating that ‘in 1986, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to both Freemasonry and Queensland, our lodge was renamed in his honour, becoming Lodge Sir John Lavarack’, the entity, Lodge Sir John Lavarack, knowingly makes the same misrepresentations regarding its history to the public at large via its website as well as to its members.
Lamington Lodge® is a registered service mark.
Established in 1896, our lodge follows Scottish Freemasonry traditions under UGLQ in Brisbane. Discover our rich heritage and distinguished members.